//
you're reading...
Art & Culture, Economics

The Meaning of Entrepreneurship: A Path Worth Exploring

I never thought of myself as an entrepreneur. I attributed entrepreneurship to someone who owns and operates their own business, and I definitely did not consider myself a business person. Throughout my childhood, I came in contact with local business owners who I respected but never aspired to really become. I thought they worked too hard, generated minimal income, and seemed unfulfilled. Forward to life after graduation, my peers from university ended up working for companies and sticking to a 9-5 schedule. I was more of an intellectual fiend, constantly needing mental stimulation, but I needed a temporary break from academia at the time. As I discovered myself to be more of a motivated individual who possesses behavioral traits of creation and leadership, I needed to formulate my own platform. Where did that leave me? The pursuit of entrepreneurship.

I realized very quickly that I wasn’t the type of individual to work a 9-5 schedule and work up a corporate ladder. I was motivated to create my own agenda, pursue my interests, lead people, and generate income whilst doing so. As I was accustomed to searching for a career on main online job boards, I didn’t really know how to launch a career as an entrepreneur. Typically, most people have found working for a business much easier than attempting to launch your own for the following reasons:

  • You have a set schedule
  • Security in income/benefits/perks
  • An existing foundation
  • Established community
  • Not passionate about a singular venture

I questioned whether entrepreneurship was the right path for me as I did not possess a singular passion that I wanted to pursue as a business venture. I longed for a flexible schedule, higher responsibilities, more value, and independence, but what good are those professional desires when you don’t have a niche? This is when I came across the term, Serial Entrepreneur. I didn’t feel so alone after all. There are other entrepreneurs who operate various ventures throughout their professional career. Success! Not just yet. Sure, I had ideas, but no direction.
The first step was finding a mentor, someone who has owned a business and understood the process of starting one. I was lucky to have such a person close to me who was able to guide, advise, and simplify the process. A strategic business plan is crucial to launch any business, even as a solopreneur. In this case, I chose an area I enjoyed – Writing. Then I combined it with my professional experience in marketing, event management, and social media. My path, thus far, has developed organically and has taught me much about what it means to be an entrepreneur. With each passing month, I have grown as a business owner, slowly compiling the traits I believe one must possess to succeed as an entrepreneur.

Bold – Discerning – Intelligent – Motivated – Self-Disciplined – Organized – Visionary – Creative – Independent – Understanding – Emotionally Wise – Determined – Committed – Diligent – Goal Oriented

There are far more traits that I haven’t mentioned but these are my top traits for entrepreneurial innovation. Don’t rule out the life of an entrepreneur for the safety of a 9-5 schedule. My idea of entrepreneurship was misguided, and until I further explored its implications, I realized how compatible it is with my goals and personality.

Share your comments on being an entrepreneur below!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Meaning of Entrepreneurship: A Path Worth Exploring

  1. You are right in a way. One must explore whilst understanding the processes and working on ideas in a structured way to become an Entrepreneur. It’s more about one’s inside calling and opportunity costs to become an entrepreneur. If it favors you, you are brave enough to startup. And as we say, luck favors the brave.

    Posted by Rachit Khator | April 8, 2013, 11:26 am
  2. As a young entrepreneur – now two years into my venture – I’ve learned a lot of the truths and especially the misconceptions of living this life! I think a lot of people glamorize this lifestyle but there’s no questions is requires a great deal of work, dedication and willingness to be uncomfortable…and broke at times. I’m fortunate to say I’ve created a great life from it, but it wasn’t without some tense moments.

    Posted by Stephanie Shirley | April 8, 2013, 12:11 pm
  3. Thanks for the share!

    Posted by An Urban Mystic | April 8, 2013, 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

